Summer School on Particle Physics, Cosmology, and Strings

Conference Date: 
Monday, August 6, 2007 (All day) to Saturday, August 18, 2007 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Particle Physics
Quantum Fields and Strings


The Summer School on Particle Physics, Cosmology and Strings is the 5th in an ongoing series offered by Perimeter Institute and PIMS. The summer school is targeted at 40 advanced graduate students in high energy physics with interests in at least one of the research areas of particle physics, cosmology and/or string theory. 


The 1st2nd and 4th editions of this summer school were held at the University of British Columbia. The 3rd edition was held at Perimeter Institute.


Broadly, the lecture courses at the school will revolve around the following themes: In particle physics, the content is aimed at helping students gain the basic tools to journey through the LHC era; in cosmology, the content is aimed at giving students the necessary background to follow the developments coming from WMAP; in string theory, the content is aimed at the developments directly connected to particle physics and cosmology. 


Partial List of Lecturers

Particle Physics 
  • Nima Arkani-Hamed

    Harvard University

  • Tao Han

    University of Wisconsin

  • Graham Kribs

    University of Oregon

  • Maxim Perelstein

    Cornell University

  • Maria Spiropulu


  • James Wells

    MCTP, University of Michigan

  • William Kinney

    University at Buffalo, the State University of New York

  • Joao Magueijo

    Perimeter Institute, CITA, Imperial College 

  • Patrick McDonald

    CITA, University of Toronto 

  • Ue-Li Pen

    CITA, University of Toronto

  • James Taylor, University of Waterloo
  • Mark Wyman

    Perimeter Institute

String Theory 
  • Frederik Denef

    University of Leuven

  • Liam McAllister

    Princeton University

  • Gary Shiu

    University of Wisconsin



Shehu Abdus Salam, DAMTP

Mohamed Anber, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Daniel Arteaga, Departament de Física Fonamental. Universitat de Barcelona

Ido Ben-Dayan Ben, Gurion University of the Negev

Joel Brownstein, Perimeter Institute

Serkan Cabi, MIT

Alejandra Castro, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Won Sang Cho, KAIST

Nathan Chow, UW / PI

Yu-Chieh Chung, Texas A&M University 

Michele Cicoli, University of Cambridge (DAMTP)

Marko Djuric, Brown University

Sean Echols, University of California, Santa Cruz

Mohammad Faghfoor, Maghrebi University of British Columbia (UBC)

Daniel Ferrante, Brown University

Veselin Filev, University of Southern California 

Dongfeng Gao Dept. of Physics, University of Toronto

Yu Gao Physics Dept., UW-Madison

Viviane Theresa Grass, Ludwigs-Maximilians-Universitaet Muenchen, Department for Theoretical Physics

Hovhannes Grigoryan, Thomas Jefferson National Laboratory

Guangyu Guo, Texas A&M University

Sheikh Haque, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Loison Hoi, McGill University

Martha Holmes, Vanderbilt University

Ji-Haeng Huh, Seoul National University

Matthias Ihl, University of Texas at Austin

Jay Ihry, Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Amir Jafari Salim, Perimeter Institute

Junji Jia, University of Western Ontario

Jeff Jones, University of California at Santa Cruz

Adam Kelleher, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Jihun Kim, Seoul National University

Klaus Larjo, University of Pennsylvania

Wonwoo Lee, CQUeST, Sogang University

Ian Lewis, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Shunji Matsuura, Perimeter Institute

Paul McGuirk, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Chan Beom Park, KAIST

Filippo Passerini, Perimeter Institute

Cengiz Pehlevan, Brown University

Delphine Perrodin, University of Arizona

Antonio Racioppi, Università degli studi di Roma Tor Vergata - Dipartimento di Fisica

Jorge Rocha, University of California, Santa Barbara

Anjishnu Sarkar, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay

Kwang Sik Jeong, KIAS

Christian Spethmann, Cornell University

Lorenzo Ubaldi, University of California, Santa Cruz

Federico Urban, INFN Ferrara & Department of Physics, University of Ferrara

Linda Uruchurtu, DAMTP, University of Cambridge

Matthias Wapler, Perimeter Institute

Eric West, Syracuse University

Benjamin Withers, Imperial College London

Timm Wrase, University of Texas at Austin

I-Sheng Yang, UC Berkeley

Sean Stotyn, University of Waterloo