News

View past news and announcements from Perimeter Institute.

  

Perimeter Faculty member Bianca Dittrich

Tuesday Aug 25, 2015

The Discretuum to Continuum Initiative aims to bridge the gap between the subatomic scale and spacetime.

Tuesday Jul 28, 2015

The International Summer School for Young Physicists (ISSYP) gives likeminded high-schoolers from around the world a chance to get hands-on with physics at Perimeter Institute. 

Monday Jul 13, 2015

EinsteinPlus workshop brings together teachers from around the world to re-imagine physics in the classroom. 

Wednesday Jul 08, 2015

Perimeter researchers Peng Ye and Zheng-Cheng Gu put forward a theory to create bosonic topological insulators by condensing the vortex lines in a Bose-Einstein condensate, and it could lead to “impossible” anyons on the surface.

Monday Jun 29, 2015

Congratulations to the sixth class to complete PI’s “theoretical physics boot camp,” the Perimeter Scholars International (PSI) master’s program.

Monday Jun 22, 2015
Perimeter has forged strategic new partnerships that will inject more than $4 million into fundamental research, training, and outreach at the Institute.

Thursday Jun 18, 2015

Three Perimeter researchers have received Early Researcher Awards from the Ontario government.

Wednesday Jun 17, 2015

The most dazzling discoveries in science often arise when subjects – or problems – collide. That is the idea behind Convergence, Perimeter’s first alumni reunion, and it’s the focus of the latest issue of the Inside the Perimeter magazine.

EHT photo

Tuesday Jun 09, 2015

Perimeter Institute is building a team of researchers and students to conduct leading-edge analysis of astrophysical data collected by the Event Horizon Telescope. 

Thursday May 21, 2015

Could black holes be the universe’s own accelerator experiments, churning out signals that may unveil exotic new particles – perhaps even the elusive dark matter?

Tuesday May 05, 2015

Perimeter Associate Faculty member Maxim Pospelov has proposed a new method of hunting for dark matter using atomic clocks.

Daniel Brod

Wednesday Apr 22, 2015

An experimental collaboration involving Perimeter postdoctoral researcher Daniel Brod shows that scattershot boson sampling works, and allows an almost fivefold increase in data collection speed.

Tuesday Apr 14, 2015

Pedro Vieira has been awarded the prestigious Gribov Medal by the European Physical Society.

Thursday Apr 02, 2015

Researchers have used a never-before-observed phenomenon called quantum distillation to turn an ultra-cold Bose-Einstein condensate into something even colder – and potentially more useful.

Monday Mar 23, 2015

Correlation does not imply causation – unless it’s quantum. That’s the message of surprising new work from Perimeter Institute and the Institute for Quantum Computing.

Wednesday Mar 18, 2015

Efforts to reduce environmental impact put Perimeter Institute in elite company.

Wednesday Mar 11, 2015

New research at Perimeter shows that gravitational fields around black holes might eddy and swirl.

Friday Mar 06, 2015

In commemoration of International Women’s Day, Perimeter’s “Inspiring Future Women in Science” conference gave more than 200 high school girls a glimpse into the lives of women in science, technology, engineering, and math (STEM).

Monday Feb 23, 2015

Perimeter Faculty member Pedro Vieira has earned a 2015 Sloan Research Fellowship for his explorations into the foundations of quantum field theory.

Wednesday Feb 18, 2015

Perimeter researchers Yidun Wan and Ling-Yan Hung have taken an important step toward using topologically open surfaces like cylinders for quantum computation.

Example of a dynamical crystal

Tuesday Feb 10, 2015

Latham Boyle wanted to enhance a proposed gravitational wave detector. Instead, he and Kendrick Smith may have stumbled upon a new type of crystal.

Luke Santi Award presentation

Friday Feb 06, 2015

Miles Cranmer, a first-year physics student at McGill University, has earned Perimeter’s 2014 Luke Santi Memorial Award in recognition of his achievements in the classroom, in the lab, and in his community.

Tuesday Feb 03, 2015

New research has overturned a widely publicized claim about the beginnings of the universe.

Michal P. Heller

Thursday Jan 08, 2015

Perimeter researcher Michal P. Heller has created a shortcut to understand primordial matter in its most extreme state.

Tuesday Jan 06, 2015

Perimeter Faculty member Lee Smolin and his collaborator, Marina Cortês, were awarded the inaugural Buchalter Cosmology Prize at the 225th meeting of the American Astronomical Society in Seattle, Washington.

Pages

Find out what's happening at Perimeter Institute.