News

View past news and announcements from Perimeter Institute.

  

Friday Apr 09, 2010

PI asks Canadian students to explain why "I Love Science", with two grand prize winners coming to Waterloo for Professor Hawking's June 20 televised lecture.

Thursday Apr 01, 2010

In only its second year, the Network has already reached thousands of students and equipped teachers with resources and confidence to teach complex concepts in modern physics.

Friday Dec 18, 2009

See a Review and link to video-on-demand presentations from PI's 10th Anniversary celebration.

Friday Oct 30, 2009

PI has signed an agreement with three Australian universities to strengthen collaborative research in quantum foundations.

Friday Oct 30, 2009

PI is pleased to share the news of an important new initiative and appointment.

Friday Oct 30, 2009

PI announced the recipient of the 2009 Luke Santi Memorial Award for Student Achievement at a ceremony held during Perimeter Institute's recent Quantum to Cosmos: Ideas for the Future Festival on October 25, 2009.

Sunday Oct 25, 2009

UW & PI to Host International Conference to Help Advance Science Policy-making.

Friday Oct 23, 2009

The Canadian Association of Physicists announces new award to recognize physics teachers at the secondary school level.

Saturday Oct 17, 2009

Canada's Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics (PI) has announced ambitious plans to strengthen its position as a leading research institute.

Thursday Oct 15, 2009

Dr. Neil Turok, Director of Perimeter Institute, is pleased to announce the appointment of ten more outstanding international scientists to the positions of Perimeter Institute Distinguished Research Chairs

Saturday Oct 10, 2009

Director Neil Turok comments on the upcoming 10th Anniversary of PI and looks ahead.

Thursday Oct 08, 2009

The next installment of this series of in-class educational resources is now ready to be ordered.

Friday Sep 18, 2009

28 outstanding physics and graduate students have converged on Waterloo to attend PSI, an innovative and intensive 10-month Masters level course being held at PI, in partnership with the University of Waterloo.

Friday Sep 04, 2009

Tickets are still available for Perimeter Institute's 10th anniversary celebration, the Quantum to Cosmos Festival, being held October 15 - 25 right here in Waterloo, Ontario.

Monday Aug 31, 2009

Perimeter Institute Faculty member Jaume Gomis has won and Early Researcher Award from the Ministry of Research and Innovation (MRI) of Ontario.

Friday Aug 07, 2009

PI and the Centre for Theoretical Cosmology (CTC) at Cambridge have signed a collaboration agreement.

Thursday Aug 06, 2009

Perimeter Institute is pleased to announce the appointment of three new Faculty members: Niayesh Afshordi; Latham Boyle; and Pedro Vieria.

Friday Jul 24, 2009

Prof. Kadanoff will join 10 other eminent international scientists in spending extended research visits at PI each year.

Monday Jul 13, 2009

PI Faculty member Freddy Cachazo has been awarded the prestigious Gribov Medal from the European Physical Society.

Thursday Jul 02, 2009

PI faculty member Lucien Hardy's Paradox has been confirmed experimentally by two research teams.

Thursday Jun 18, 2009

Neil Turok, Director of the Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, welcomed the new investment of $10,012, 043 from the Canadian Foundation for Innovation supporting a major expansion of the Institute's world class facility.

Monday Jun 08, 2009

Perimeter Institute and Canada's Technology Triangle Inc. have been co-awarded the 2009 Global City Award from the Canadian Urban Institute.

Sunday May 31, 2009

PI researchers feature prominently in an essay contest from the Foundational Questions Institute on "The Nature of Time."

Sunday May 31, 2009

The work of several PI researchers has been chosen for inclusion in the New Journal of Physics Best of 2008 issue.

Tuesday May 12, 2009

For 10 exciting days this October, Perimeter Institute's 10th anniversary science celebration will take a global audience from the strange subatomic world to the outer frontiers of the universe.

Pages

Find out what's happening at Perimeter Institute.