News

View past news and announcements from Perimeter Institute.

  

Tuesday Sep 09, 2008

CERN, the world's largest particle physics laboratory, will circulate beams in the Large Hadron Collider (LHC) beginning on September 10.

Sunday Aug 31, 2008

Perimeter Institute is pleased to announce that Rob Spekkens has been appointed to a Junior Faculty position in Quantum Foundations.

Wednesday Jul 09, 2008

Incoming Scientific Director Neil Turok is pleased to announce the appointment of three new eminent international scientists to serve on Perimeter Institute's Scientific Advisory Council.

Tuesday May 13, 2008

Perimeter Institute (PI) has taken part in a special celebration of youth, science and ideas - all inside a unique venue at Major's Hill Park in the nation's capital.

Friday May 09, 2008

The Board of Directors of Canada's Perimeter Institute is pleased to announce the appointment of Dr. Neil Turok to the position of Executive Director.

Sunday May 04, 2008

In a new and generous act of personal philanthropy, Mike Lazaridis has provided an additional $50 million (Canadian) to PI. This private donation increases his personal contribution to $150 million in the research institute.

Tuesday Apr 29, 2008

Dr. Raymond Laflamme has recieved the prestigious Premier's Discovery Award for his contributions to natural sciences and engineering.

Friday Apr 11, 2008

PI Associate Member Richard Cleve is the recipient of the 2008 Canadian Assocation of Physicists (CAP) and Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics.

Friday Apr 11, 2008

The Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe (WMAP) has just released its 5-year data.  Eiichiro Komatsu, a member of the WMAP team, gave two talks on the new data release, as part of two cosmology workshops at PI.

Friday Apr 04, 2008

In a special ceremony Dr. Suzanne Fortier, president of NSERC, announced on behalf of the Honourable Kim Prentice, that PI won the Council's top award to an organization involved with science communication and promotion.

Friday Feb 15, 2008

PI is now providing the first in a new series of in-class, educational resources designed to help teachers introduce and guide students through a variety of topics in physics.

Thursday Feb 07, 2008

Jean Christian Boileau, former PhD student under Raymond Laflamme at the University of Waterloo and PI wins John Brodie Memorial Award.

Thursday Feb 07, 2008

GQI will award two Best Student Paper prizes sponsored by PI and IQC at the APS March Meeting, one for theoretical work and one for experimental.

Monday Dec 17, 2007

A recent panel discussion about 'The Physics of Information' from Canada's Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics (PI), will air across Canada on CBC's 'Quirks and Quarks' radio program.

Thursday Nov 01, 2007

PI is proud to be hosting the Guelph-Waterloo Physics Institute (<G|W>) Distinguished Lecture entitled Surface-Enhanced Raman Spectroscopy and its Progeny by Dr. Martin Moskovits.

Monday Oct 15, 2007

Renowned Scientist Leonard Susskind has joined PI's Faculty as an Associate Member. Professor Susskind is widely recognized as one of the most highly creative researchers in the field of particle physics.

Monday Sep 17, 2007

A founding member of the Institute, Dr. Rob Myers, will provide scientific direction effective immediately.

Wednesday Sep 12, 2007

Perimeter Institute is very pleased to announce that Adrian Kent has joined its faculty as an associate member.

Monday Jul 16, 2007

PI gets ready to host International Summer School for Young Physicists.

Tuesday May 22, 2007

Achievements commended in developing Perimeter Institute.

Thursday May 17, 2007

The Prime Minister of Canada Stephen Harper, unveiled the government's new Science and Technology agenda.

Monday Apr 09, 2007

Congratulations to Gleb Akselrod from the Kwait Quantum Information Team at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.  He was announced as the winner of the best student page prize in theoretical research at the APS March meeting.

Monday Mar 19, 2007

Commitment to Perimeter Institute for the next five years.

Pages

Find out what's happening at Perimeter Institute.