Official news about, and announcements from, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics.


Friday Dec 06, 2013

The world has lost an icon of intelligent humanity with the passing of Nelson Mandela.

Friday Nov 15, 2013

Perimeter Institute has established, thanks to a visionary investment in partnership with the Krembil Foundation, prestigious research chairs for two of the world's top theoretical physicists.

Thursday Nov 14, 2013

The new biographical documentary about the world’s most famous living scientist is coming to Ontario, Canada. “Hawking: The Remarkable Story of a Beautiful Mind” will begin its Canadian premiere run at the Toronto International Film Festival’s Bell Lightbox, starting Friday, November 29.

Canada Research Chair Winner Roger Melko

Thursday Nov 14, 2013

Perimeter Associate Faculty member Roger Melko has been awarded a Tier II Canada Research Chair (CRC) in Computational Quantum Many-Body Physics.

Faculty member Freddy Cachazo

Tuesday Nov 05, 2013

Perimeter Faculty member Freddy Cachazo has won a New Horizons in Physics Prize. The $100,000 award recognizes exceptionally promising young researchers and is given by the Fundamental Physics Prize Foundation (FPP).

Neil Turok

Wednesday Oct 23, 2013

On November 19, 2013, Toronto’s Ramsay Talks will present Perimeter Institute Director Neil Turok on the power of the human mind to reveal nature’s deep secrets and how that basic knowledge drives progress. 

Logo for Canada' Technology Triangle

Wednesday Oct 09, 2013

Perimeter Director Neil Turok will deliver the keynote speech during the 5th Annual International Reception and Dinner presented by Canada’s Technology Triangle Inc. on December 5.

Nobel Prize medal

Wednesday Oct 09, 2013

Perimeter salutes this year’s Nobel Prize winners, Francois Englert and Peter Higgs, and remembers Englert’s collaborator, and Perimeter visiting scientist, Robert Brout.

Monday Oct 07, 2013

The BrainSTEM: Your Future is Now Festival welcomed scientific explorers of all ages to Perimeter Institute through the first week of October.

Perimeter resource, Career Moves: Skills for the Journey

Monday Sep 30, 2013

To help equip students with the skills they need for success in the 21st century, Perimeter Institute has launched the new Career Moves in-class resource. The announcement took place in conjunction with the BrainSTEM: Your Future is Now Festival, made possible through the support of the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev Ontario).

Lane Anderson Award logo

Friday Sep 27, 2013

Perimeter Institute’s Director, Neil Turok, has been awarded the 2013 Lane Anderson Award for science writing for his book, The Universe Within: From Quantum to Cosmos.

David Johnston

Monday Sep 23, 2013

Canada's Governor General, His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, got a first-hand look at the interactive exhibits that will be showcased during Perimeter Institute's upcoming BrainSTEM Festival.

Logo for Canadian Association of Physicists

Friday Sep 20, 2013

Dave Doucette and Jason Jennings, both long-time members of Perimeter Institute’s Teacher Network, have been named among the 2013 recipients for the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP) Awards for Excellence in High School/CEGEP Physics Teaching.


Wednesday Sep 18, 2013

Perimeter Institute is pleased to announce the creation of the Anaximandros Scholarship, which will support the education and training of exceptional young physicists.

On-shell diagram

Friday Sep 13, 2013

A team of researchers that includes Perimeter Faculty member Freddy Cachazo has invented a new system for calculating what happens when particles interact – a result likely to have wide implications for physics and mathematics.

Jacob Barnett writing on a Perimeter chalkboard

Friday Aug 30, 2013

Perimeter Scholars International attracts many exceptional graduate-level students from around the world. Its newest class includes its youngest-ever student, Jacob Barnett, whose innate passion for physics is chronicled in the best-selling book, The Spark, and who was recently profiled in Maclean’s magazine.

The case of the shrinking proton

Friday Aug 23, 2013

Perimeter researchers Itay Yavin and Maxim Pospelov have posited a new force of nature to explain the seeming shrinking of the proton.

David Skinner

Friday Aug 09, 2013

Perimeter congratulates Visiting Fellow David Skinner on winning Journal of Physics A’s “Best Paper Prize” for 2013. The prize is awarded to Skinner and collaborator Lionel Mason for their paper titled “Amplitudes at weak coupling as polytopes in AdS5.”

Eugenio Bianchi

Friday Aug 09, 2013

Perimeter Institute congratulates Postdoctoral Researcher Eugenio Bianchi, who has just been recognized by his peers in the loop quantum gravity community with the inaugural Bronstein Prize.

Tuesday Jul 16, 2013

In the quest to bridge the gap between the physics of the very large and the very small, Perimeter Postdoctoral Researcher Steffen Gielen and collaborators have achieved an important milestone that brings to mind the adage “what’s old is new again.”

Erik Schnetter

Friday Jul 12, 2013

Computational physics – that is, tackling physics problems using numerical tools implemented on computers – is of increasing importance in modern physics. Here’s a glimpse of computational physics at Perimeter.

Dr. Richard Epp guides a group of Singaporean teachers through a Perimeter workshop activity

Monday Jul 08, 2013

Perimeter Institute’s Educational Outreach team recently visited Singapore as part of the Institute’s efforts to share its award-winning modern physics resources and expertise internationally.

NSERC logo

Thursday Jul 04, 2013

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) has announced the recipients of its 2013 Discovery Grants, including seven researchers from Perimeter Institute.

Perimeter Scholars International, Class of 2013

Wednesday Jul 03, 2013

Perimeter bids farewell to the fourth class of Perimeter Scholars International (PSI) students.

Friday Jun 28, 2013

Perimeter Institute would like to congratulate PhD candidates João Caetano and Jonathan Toledo on winning the John Brodie Memorial Award.