Slice of PI

Perimeter offers a "Slice of PI". 

Artificial Intelligence

Thursday Jul 02, 2015

To commemorate some big anniversaries in science and sci-fi, Perimeter Institute researchers, students, and staff reflect on fantastical figments that science has made real. 

Alioscia at work

Tuesday Jun 16, 2015
When streams of thought converge, truth is found in the swirling eddies of opposing ideas. 

Thursday May 14, 2015

To mark the 100-year anniversary of the theory that re-wrote the rule book of physics, Perimeter presents an overview of general relativity, alphabetized for your convenience.

Thursday Apr 16, 2015

Whether you’re a gravitational guru or an armchair astronomer, you’ll gravitate toward these lesser-known facts about black holes.  

Pi Battle

Friday Mar 13, 2015

A little friendly competition never hurt anyone, especially when it’s about something as beautiful as the infinite decimal places of pi.

Wednesday Feb 25, 2015

They discovered pulsars, found the first evidence of dark matter, pioneered mathematics, radioactivity, nuclear fission, elasticity, and computer programming, and have even stopped light. 

Thursday Jan 08, 2015

In celebration of the International Year of Light, Perimeter Institute presents 20 fascinating factoids about photons.

Monday Dec 08, 2014

For Perimeter postdoc David “Doddy” Marsh, skateboarding and theoretical physics are two halves of his whole – sometimes complementary, sometimes in opposition, both essential.

Sunday Nov 09, 2014

To commemorate what would have been Carl Sagan's 80th birthday, Perimeter Institute celebrates one of science's greatest advocates.

Thursday Oct 02, 2014

A great teacher can change the world.

Faraday

Monday Sep 22, 2014

How a curious 19th century mind shaped our world. 

Tuesday Aug 12, 2014

We present a unique look at the most famous thought experiment in quantum physics, in which an unfortunate (and, rest assured, purely hypothetical) cat sacrifices its life, yet also doesn’t, for the sake of science.

Wednesday Jul 16, 2014

Even the most brilliant minds need to unwind.

Friday Jun 20, 2014

As Carl Sagan once wrote: “It does no harm to the romance of the sunset to know a little bit about it.”

Sunday May 11, 2014

Apart from being a brilliant scientist, Richard Feynman was known for being amazingly quotable.

Wednesday Apr 30, 2014

Just don’t blink!

Wednesday Apr 23, 2014

Some lesser-known quanta of wisdom about Max Planck in commemoration of his 156th birthday.”

Friday Mar 14, 2014

Like Pi? Here’s a collection of things you might not know about this mysterious mathematical constant.