Page 52 - 2012-01-20

This is a SEO version of 2012-01-20. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
Michael Peskin, Chair, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory (2008-Present). Professor Peskin’s research interests include all
aspects of theoretical elementary particle physics, but particularly the nature of new elementary particles and forces that will be
discovered at the coming generation of proton and electron colliders. He was a Junior Fellow at the Harvard Society of Fellows
from 1977 to 1980 and was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2000. He is co-author of a popular
textbook on quantum field theory.
Gerard Milburn, Chair, University of Queensland (2007-10). Professor Milburn’s research interests include quantum optics,
quantum measurement and stochastic processes, quantum information and quantum computation. He has published over 200
papers in international journals, with over 6,000 citations. He is also the author or co-author of several books, two of which seek
to explain quantum phenomena and their potential to a general audience.
Abhay Ashtekar, Pennsylvania State University (2008-10). Professor Ashtekar is Eberly Professor of Physics and the Director of
the Institute for Gravitational Physics and Geometry at Pennsylvania State University. As the creator of Ashtekar variables, he is
one of the founders of loop quantum gravity. He has written a number of descriptions of loop quantum gravity that are accessible
to non-physicists.
Sir Michael Berry, University of Bristol (2009-Present). Sir Michael Berry is Professor Emeritus at Bristol University. He has made
numerous important contributions to semi-classical physics (asymptotic physics, quantum chaos) applied to wave phenomena
in quantum mechanics and other areas such as optics. Among other work, he is well known for the Berry phase, a phenomenon
which has found applications in atomic, condensed matter, nuclear, and elementary particle physics, as well as optics. He was
elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of London in 1982 and was knighted in 1996. Professor Berry’s previous honours include
the Dirac Medals of both the Institute of Physics (1990) and the ICTP (1996), the Lilienfeld Prize (1990), the Wolf Prize (1998), and
the London Mathematical Society’s Polya Prize (2005).
Matthew Fisher, California Institute of Technology (2009-Present). Professor Fisher is a condensed matter theorist whose
research has focused on strongly correlated systems, especially low dimensional systems, Mott insulators, quantum magnetism
and the quantum Hall effect. He received the Alan T. Waterman Award from the National Science Foundation in 1995 and the
National Academy of Sciences Award for Initiatives in Research in 1997. In 2003, he was elected as a Member of the American
Academy of Arts and Sciences. Professor Fisher has over 150 publications.
Brian Greene, Columbia University (2010-Present). Professor Greene is a Professor of Mathematics and Physics at Columbia
University, where he is co-Director of the Institute for Strings, Cosmology, and Astroparticle Physics (ISCAP). Professor Greene
has made groundbreaking discoveries in superstring theory, exploring the physical implications and mathematical properties of
the extra dimensions the theory posits. His current research centres on string cosmology, seeking to understand the physics
of the universe’s first moments. Professor Greene is well known for his work on communicating theoretical physics for general
audiences, and his books include The Elegant Universe, which has sold more than a million copies worldwide; The Fabric of the
Cosmos, which spent six months on The New York Times Best Seller list; and Icarus at the Edge of Time, A Children’s Tale. A
three-part NOVA special based on The Elegant Universe won both the Emmy and Peabody Awards.
Gerard ’t Hooft, Utrecht University (2008-10). Professor ’t Hooft’s research focuses on gauge theories in elementary particle
physics, quantum gravity and black holes, and fundamental aspects of quantum physics. In addition to the Ben Franklin Medal,
Professor ’t Hooft’s contributions to science have been recognized with many awards, including the 1999 Nobel Prize in Physics,
with the citation “for elucidating the quantum structure of electroweak interactions in physics.”
Igor R. Klebanov, Princeton University (2007-10). Professor Klebanov’s research has touched on many aspects of theoretical
physics and is presently centered on relations between superstring theory and quantum field theory. He is currently Thomas D.
Jones Professor of Mathematical Physics at Princeton University. He has made many highly regarded contributions to the duality
between gauge theories and strings.