Page 49 - 2012-01-20

This is a SEO version of 2012-01-20. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
The Cowan Foundation
The Debbie and Don Morrison Family Foundation**
The Gerald Schwartz & Heather Reisman Foundation**
The John Templeton Foundation
The Kitchener and Waterloo Community Foundation
— Musagetes Fund
— The John A. Pollock Family Fund
The Peter and Shelagh Godsoe Family Foundation**
RBC Foundation
member of Director’s Circle
Director’s Circle
Debbie and Ian Adare
Alexandra Brown
Don Campbell
David Caputo
Savvas and Christine Chamberlain
Catherine A. Delaney
Jon and Lyne Dellandrea
Greg Dick
Michael and Kathy Duschenes
Ginny Dybenko
H. Garfield Emerson
Cosimo and Christina Fiorenza
Doug Fregin
Edward S. Goldenberg
Richard and Donna Ivey
Tim Jackson
Farsad Kiani
Robin Korthals
Mike Lazaridis
Carol A. Lee
Kevin Lynch
James Mossman
Barbara Palk and John Warwick
Reid Family
Bruce and Lisa Rothney
Maureen J. Sabia
Harald Stover and Maria Antonakos
Neil Turok
Douglas Wright
Friends of Perimeter
Anonymous (3)
J. DesBrisay and M. Cannell
Sue and Dave Scanlon
In seeking to become the world’s leading centre
in the field, Perimeter is growing strategically. The
keystone of its scientific growth – supporting it from
above – will be the establishment of five Chairs,
to be named for scientists whose insights defined
modern physics: Isaac Newton, James Clerk
Maxwell, Albert Einstein, Niels Bohr, and Paul Dirac.
Each Chair will be filled by a world-leading scientist
in the appropriate field. They will attract others:
senior and junior faculty, postdocs and students,
anchoring exceptional research teams.
This year, Perimeter established and filled the first
Chair: The BMO Financial Group Isaac Newton
Chair in Theoretical Physics at Perimeter Institute.
BMO’s $4 million investment was the largest single
donation it has made to support science and
technology in Canada, and the largest corporate
donation Perimeter has received to date.
Xiao-Gang Wen, one of the world’s top condensed
matter theorists, has been recruited from MIT as
the first Chairholder. He is expected to arrive at
Perimeter in the coming year.
Photo credit: Scott Norsworthy
The above reflects gifts pledged August 1, 2010-December 31, 2011.