Page 29 - 2012-01-20

This is a SEO version of 2012-01-20. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
Perimeter’s DRCs include luminaries such as Stephen Hawking,
Nima Arkani-Hamed, Leonard Susskind, Mark Wise, and Ignacio
Cirac from across the entire spectrum of theoretical physics. Their
presence sparks new ideas and collaborations, and greatly enhances
Perimeter’s resident research community. This year, eight new DRCs
were appointed, bringing the total to 27.
Many of the great discoveries in physics were made by surprisingly
young scientists. With this in mind, Perimeter provides its postdoctoral
researchers with exceptional opportunities to maximize their research
potential at a pivotal stage in their careers. They infuse the Institute’s
research environment with energy and vivacity, offering consistently
fresh perspectives.
Perimeter is home to the largest group of independent theoretical
physics postdoctoral researchers in the world (43 in 2010-11). As
full partners in Perimeter’s research community, postdocs pursue
independent research programs and are encouraged to invite scientific
collaborators, travel, and organize conferences.
This year’s 11 new appointees were chosen from more than 600
applicants, joining Perimeter from top institutions including Harvard,
Caltech, Princeton, Hebrew University, ETH Zurich, and the Kavli
Institute for Theoretical Physics (Santa Barbara). Working at
Perimeter has launched many successful careers; last year, departing
postdoctoral researchers obtained excellent positions at the Albert
Einstein Institute (Potsdam), Los Alamos National Laboratory, the
Indian Institute of Science (Bangalore), and other leading institutions.
Dorit Aharonov, Hebrew University
Yakir Aharonov, Chapman University & Tel Aviv
Nima Arkani-Hamed, Institute for Advanced
Neta Bahcall, Princeton University
James Bardeen,* University of Washington
Ganapathy Baskaran,* Institute of
Mathematical Sciences (Chennai)
Juan Ignacio Cirac, Max Planck Institute of
Quantum Optics, Garching
Gia Dvali, New York University and CERN
S. James Gates,* University of Maryland
Stephen Hawking, University of Cambridge
Patrick Hayden, McGill University
Christopher Isham, Imperial College London
Leo Kadanoff, University of Chicago
Renate Loll, Utrecht University
Malcolm Perry, University of Cambridge
Sandu Popescu, University of Bristol
Frans Pretorius,* Princeton University
Subir Sachdev, Harvard University
Ashoke Sen, Harish-Chandra Research Institute
Eva Silverstein,* Stanford University
Paul Steinhardt,* Princeton University
Leonard Susskind, Stanford University
Gerard ’t Hooft,* Utrecht University
Senthil Todadri,* Massachusetts Institute of
William Unruh, University of British Columbia
Xiao-Gang Wen, Massachusetts Institute of
Mark Wise, California Institute of Technology
* Indicates DRC appointed in 2010-11
Postdoctoral Researchers Alioscia Hamma and Astrid Eichhorn
Photo credit: Scott Norsworthy