Page 25 - 2012-01-20

This is a SEO version of 2012-01-20. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
• Associate Faculty member Maxim Pospelov was awarded an
NSERC Discovery Grant of $395,000 (2006-2011), within the
top tier of awards given to theorists in subatomic physics
• Associate Faculty member Niayesh Afshordi received a
$150,000 Early Researcher Award from Ontario’s Ministry of
Research and Innovation
• Director Neil Turok was named to the Science, Technology
and Innovation Council (STIC), the Government of Canada’s
advisory body on science, technology, and innovation issues
• Associate Faculty member Cliff Burgess was invited by NSERC
to serve on the committee drafting Canada’s national five-year
plan for subatomic physics (2012-2017)
• Postdoctoral Researcher Adrienne Erickcek was awarded a
CIFAR Junior Fellowship
• Associate Faculty member Adrian Kent was awarded a
Research Fellowship by the Leverhulme Trust for his project,
“Mathematical Characterization of Quantum Reality”
• Associate Faculty member Maxim Pospelov was awarded a
Gordon Godfrey Visiting Fellowship at the University of New
South Wales, Sydney, Australia
• Associate Faculty member Michele Mosca was named to
Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 by The Globe and Mail
• Faculty member Lee Smolin was awarded a Foundational
Questions Research Institute (FQXi) grant for his project,
“Physical and cosmological consequences of the hypotheses
of the reality of time”
• Faculty members Lee Smolin and Laurent Freidel, with
colleagues, won second prize in the 2011 Gravity Research
Foundation essay competition for “Relative Locality: A
Deepening of the Relativity Principle”
• Senior Researcher Christopher Fuchs was selected as the 2011
Clifford Lecturer at Tulane University
• Postdoctoral Researcher Matthew Johnson was co-awarded
an FQXi grant of US$112,331 for “Detecting signatures of
eternal inflation using WMAP and Planck data”
• Senior Postdoctoral Fellow Giulio Chiribella was selected by the
American Physical Society as an APS highlight for his paper,
“Informational derivation of quantum theory”
In November 2010, President Barack Obama presented
the National Medal of Science to Perimeter Institute
Distinguished Research Chair Yakir Aharanov. The award
is the highest honour bestowed on scientists by the United
States government.
Professor Aharanov is best known for the discovery of the
Aharanov-Bohm effect, a quantum phenomenon which
fundamentally advanced modern physics by demonstrating
that potentials, not forces, were the most appropriate
language in which to describe the quantum world. The
implications of the Aharanov-Bohm effect are still being
probed by scientists more than 50 years after its discovery.
Photo credit: Ryan K. Morris/National Science &
Technology Medals Foundation