Quantum Foundations Summer School

Conference Date: 
Monday, August 27, 2007 (All day) to Friday, August 31, 2007 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Quantum Foundations


Perimeter Institute will host up to 40 graduate students and up to 10 postdocs or junior faculty working in all areas of fundamental physics (including particle physics, string theory, cosmology, quantum gravity, quantum information, and other disciplines). Quantum foundations seeks to recognize, analyze, and resolve the conceptual tensions within various frameworks and theories in fundamental physics, where quantum theory is or might be applied, with the aim of developing or replacing existing physical theories.


The Quantum Foundations Summer School (QFSS) offers participants the chance to learn about exciting research in quantum foundations and to enjoy an all expenses paid visit to Canada’s Perimeter Institute (including international travel, a per diem, a banquet, and accommodation). Places will be awarded to the highest ranked students applying, independent of research specialty.


Nikolas Akerblom - Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics

Martina Avellino - University College, London

Roland Bauerschmidt - ETH Zurich

Adrian Baule - School of Physics and Astronomy

Devon Biggerstaff - University of Queensland 

Gili Bisker - Israel Institute of Technology

Leron Borsten - Imperial College

Anne Broadbent - University of Montreal 

Adam Brown - Columbia University 

Francis-Yan Cyr-Racine - McGill University

Jackson DeBuhr - University of California at Berkeley

Andreas Döring - Imperial College

Bill Edwards - Oxford University 

Mathias Garny - Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics

Helena Granstrom - Stockholm University 

Stephen Green - University of Chicago 

Libby Heaney - University of Leeds

Kathrin Hochmuth - Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics

Onur Hosten - University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Mike Jeffrey - University of Bristol

Yuen Ting Ko - University of Cambridge

Dmitry Kobak - St. Petesburg State University, Physics Department

Piero Mana - Kungliga Tekniska Hogskolan, ICT 

John Manchak - University of California, Irvine

Michael McCracken - Carnegie Mellon University

Nicolas Menicucci - Princeton University 

Sarah Midgley - University of Queensland 

Ryan Moris - University of Waterloo

Lydia Philpott - Imperial College

Davide Pietrobon - University of Rome Torvergata

Hai-Tao Quan - Chinese Academy of Sciences. (ITP,CAS)

Olaf Schreiber - University of Cambridge 

Alexander Selem - University of California at Berkeley

Alexander Stotland - Ben-Gurion University, Israel

Si-Hui Tan - Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Victor Taveras - Institute for Gravitation and the Cosmos

Jasper van Wezel - Lorentz-Institute for Theoretical Physics

Thomas Waterhouse - University of British Columbia

Johannes Wilms - TU Darmstadt 

James Wootton - University of Leeds

Hui Yao - University of Canterbury