New Directions in Dark Matter and Neutrino Physics

Conference Date: 
Thursday, July 20, 2017 (All day) to Saturday, July 22, 2017 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
Particle Physics


Continuing investment in fundamental weakly-coupled science, primarily through neutrino experiments and dark matter searches, prompts the question: is the maximum possible scientific information going to be extracted from these experiments? Are there new creative uses of the existing and planned facilities that would advance our knowledge of fundamental physics? Are there physics targets that have been overlooked by the current approach? This workshop will attempt to advance discussion of these topics, and concentrate on non-traditional ideas and alternative methods of probing new physics, both at underground laboratories and at high-intensity accelerators. The workshop aims to complement the large international conference, Topics in Astroparticle and Underground Physics 2017, to be held in Sudbury ON July 24-28, by directly preceding that meeting.

To register for this event, please click here.

Perimeter Institute has launched a new program whereby child care support may be available to facilitate your participation in workshops and conferences.  Please visit for more information.

  • Pilar Coloma, Fermilab
  • Yanou Cui, University of California, Riverside
  • Malcolm Fairbairn, Kings College London
  • Vera Gluscevic, Instittue for Advanced Study
  • Karsten Heeger, Yale University
  • Eder Izaguirre, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Christoforos Kouvaris, University of Southern Denmark
  • Gordan Krnjaic, Fermilab
  • Jason Kumar, University of Hawaii
  • Rafael Lang, Purdue University
  • Shirley Li, Ohio State University
  • Kenny Ng, Weizmann Institute of Science
  • Federica Petricca, Max Planck Institute for Physics
  • Josef Pradler, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Adam Ritz, University of Victoria 
  • Ian Shoemaker, Univeristy of South Dakota
  • Tracy Slatyer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Nigel Smith, SNOLAB
  • Peter Sorensen, Berkeley Lab
  • Louis Strigari, Texas A&M University
  • Flip Tanedo, University of California, Riverside

Scientific Organizers:

  • John Beacom, Ohio State University
  • Joseph Bramante, Perimeter Institute
  • Mark Chen, Queen's University
  • Maxim Pospelov, Perimeter Institute & University of Victoria