New Directions in Conventional and Ambitwistor String Theories

Conference Date: 
Monday, April 16, 2018 (All day) to Friday, April 20, 2018 (All day)
Scientific Areas: 
String Theory


The goal of the workshop is to foster interaction between researchers working on the S-matrices of conventional strings and on ambitwistor strings.  The workshop will exploit synergies between the two frameworks and identify the current key questions in the fields and areas that can benefit from collaboration.

The program of the workshop will be tailored to questions and problems raised by the participants in the run-up to the event. The goal is to spend most of the time on collaborative discussions in order to exchange expertise and to attempt to resolve questions during the workshop. A list of such problems can be found below, and this will be extended by the participants in the run-up to the meeting.

  • To obtain ambitwistor integrands & Bern-Carrasco-Johansson (BCJ) numerators for multiloop amplitudes and to connect with superstring worldsheet correlators.
  • To develop fully nonlinear approaches by working on curved backgrounds, both for application to AdS/CFT and to problems in perturbative gravity and gauge theory on nontrivial backgrounds.
  • To understand the twistor and ambitwistor geometry underpinning both conventional and ambitwistor strings, including the geometry of soft limits, infrared structure and its links with formulations at null infinity.
  • To explore mathematical structures behind the integrals of conventional and ambitwistor strings (positive geometries & canonical forms, twisted (co)-cycle, etc.)


  • Thales Azevedo, Uppsala University
  • Eduardo Casali, University of Oxford
  • Yvonne Geyer, Institute for Advanced Study
  • Humberto Gomez, Universidad Satiago de Chile
  • Ricardo Monteiro, Queen Mary University & CERN
  • Piotr Tourkine, CERN

More speakers to be announced

Scientific Organizers:

  • Freddy Cachazo, Perimeter Institute
  • Song He, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Lionel Mason, University of Oxford
  • Oliver Schlotterer, Perimeter Institute & Max Planck Institute
  • David Skinner, University of Cambridge